Gaming

Gaming Itch

If you saw my last post, you will know that I am (slowly) building a gaming computer. I’ve already got a pretty good idea of which parts I want to order, but I’m the kind of person that if I’ve committed to doing something, I’m going to go ahead and do it “right” the first time. (For example, my husband and I have been discussing putting up a fence around our backyard. I want a nice, tall, wooden fence, which he is fine with, but he suggested putting up a chain-link fence first. I said we aren’t in a hurry to put the fence up, so why pay for a fence we don’t want? Why not just wait until we can afford the wooden fence that we actually want, and not pay for two fences?) Anyway, if I’m going to build a gaming computer, I’m going to build it the way I want it, even if that means it will take a bit longer and cost a bit more.

I say all this because I’m really itching to pay some games. The laptop I have is technically a gaming laptop, but it’s definitely not performing that well anymore when it comes to gaming. On my favorite games (Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, and Skyrim), I began having trouble with the graphics. Sections of the graphics would look stretched and the longer I played the worse it got.

screenshot0

It would look something like this, but would usually occur on building walls, fences, power lines, things like that. I tried everything I could think to fix it. I googled it and tried every fix I found on the internet and nothing seemed to fix the issue. I think it’s the graphics card in my laptop. Then when Fallout 4 came out, I couldn’t run it above low graphics and it was still extremely laggy in heavy battle scenes and heavily populated areas (Concord at the very beginning of the game for example). It makes it very hard to play and is a serious downer for a game enthusiast like myself. This is why I decided to build my own gaming computer. My gaming laptop with still run relatively simple games like Nancy Drew, The Sims, things like that so I’ve decided to do a Nancy Drew game marathon. I own all of them except for the newest one (Sea Of Darkness) and the Salem one is about to come out which I am very excited about. I’ll either just do a summary of each game after I finish or I might possibly do a detail walkthrough, I haven’t decided yet.

The original Nancy Drew game #1 is very old and will not run on my computer, I do still have it though. For this one, I just watched a walkthrough on YouTube of someone playing it. Here is a link to the playlist that make up the walkthrough: Nancy Drew #1: Secrets Can Kill. So I will start with Nancy Drew #2.

Leave a Reply

