Book Review

PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

366522

This book is about Holly Kennedy, a thirty year old woman who loses her husband, Gerry, to a brain tumor. This book is about her learning to live her life alone when her whole life was about her husband before he passed away. Before Gerry passes away, he devises a plan to help her move on and get her life in order by leaving letters for her to open on the first of every month with a task in each letter. Holly slowly learns that Gerry wouldn’t want her to be unhappy and that she needs to move on and learn to be happy without him.

This is one of my favorite books! Even though I’ve never lost a husband, I feel like I relate to Holly a lot in this book. I have anxiety, and there are lots of days when I don’t even want to get out of bed or go to work. On the weekends, my friends will make plans and I will either not go at all or just dread going and think I will just be counting down the minutes until I can go home. But most of the time I just have to kick myself and say I have to get up and go to work. Or I need to go be social and hang out with my friends. And when I do, I usually end up having a good time. I feel like this book says if you just keep truckin’ everything will be okay, even if you hit some dumps along the way.

I think the only complaint I have about his books is sometimes Holly and the other female characters are a little too prissy for me. The one example I can think of off the top of my head is when the girls are still at Holly’s house before going out for her birthday they are drinking champagne and someone refers to champagne as “champers”. Like do people actually say that?

Leave a Reply

